Amber list update – Which countries are on the amber travel list? Full list

Travel: UK urged to 'open up now' by Lord Karan Bilimoria

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The Department for Transport has announced the outcome of its latest review of the traffic light system for international travel, and the green, amber and red lists have all undergone some significant changes. Read on to find out how the traffic light system will change from 4am on August 8.

What changes were announced in the latest travel review?

Seven new countries will be added to the green list, it has been confirmed.

The new countries which will be added to the green list from 4am on Sunday, August 8 are Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway.

Several changes to the amber list were also confirmed in the latest Government travel review.

India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE will be moved from the red list to the amber list from 4am on August 8.

Georgia, Mexico, La Reunion and Mayotte were also added to the red list “to safeguard domestic vaccine rollout”, the Department for Transport said.

France remains an amber list country, but the requirement for fully vaccinated arrivals from France to self-isolate will now be dropped, bringing France in line with other amber list countries.

People who are fully vaccinated with a vaccine authorised and administered in the UK, US or Europe do not need to quarantine when arriving in England from an amber list country.

There was speculation that Spain could join France on the ‘amber-plus’ list at the latest travel review.

Some reports indicated travellers from Spain could face quarantine after arrival in England, regardless of their vaccination status, due to fears over the Beta coronavirus variant.

However, the latest travel review has not seen any extra travel restrictions placed on Spain, and the country remains on the amber list.

The Department for Transport said arrivals from Spain and its islands are advised to use a PCR test as their pre-departure test wherever possible, as a “precaution against the increased prevalence of the virus and variants” in Spain.

Spain expat warns of ‘difficulty’ accessing healthcare [ANALYSIS]
CBI orders Boris to open up travel to live with Covid after vaccines [INSIGHT]
Will you avoid holidays to Europe after charge for Britons announced? [POLL]

What countries are on the amber list now?

From August 8, countries on the amber list include:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Azerbaijan
  • The Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands, Tokelau and Niue
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic (Czechia)
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Greece (including islands)
  • Greenland
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • North Macedonia
  • The Occupied Palestinian Territories
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal, including the Azores (Note: Madeira is on the green watchlist).
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain, including the Canary Islands and the Balearic Islands (Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca)
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Maarten
  • St Martin and St Barthélemy
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • UAE
  • Ukraine
  • United States (USA)
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen

Which countries are on the green list now?

There are now several destinations on the green list that Brits can travel to without facing quarantine upon their return to England.

As of 4am on August 8, the green list countries will be:

  • Anguilla (Green watchlist)
  • Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory (Green watchlist)
  • Antigua and Barbuda (Green watchlist)
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Barbados (Green watchlist)
  • Bermuda (Green watchlist)
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (Green watchlist)
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cayman Islands (Green watchlist)
  • Croatia (Green watchlist)
  • Dominica (Green watchlist)
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada (Green watchlist)
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem (Green watchlist)
  • Latvia
  • Madeira (Green watchlist)
  • Malta
  • Montserrat (Green watchlist)
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands (Green watchlist)
  • Romania
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Taiwan (Green watchlist)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (Green watchlist)

Source: Read Full Article