Travel update: Where we can go? Which countries have banned Brits?

Grant Shapps says UK being ‘cautious’ over travel list

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Last week the Government announced fully vaccinated travellers from the EU and US would no longer have to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival into the UK. This has encouraged the struggling travel industry that more restrictions could be lifted soon.

The UK might be keen to put pandemic restrictions behind it but other countries don’t seem so keen to ditch their travel restrictions.

Freedom Day marked the lifting of all legal restrictions in England as the country moved to the fourth and final stage of the Government’s road map.

The Government is facing mounting pressure from the travel sector to loosen rules around international travel too.

As the UK starts to open its doors to international travellers, which countries continue to ban Brits from entering?

Throughout the pandemic, many countries closed their borders and restricted international visitors from entering in a bid to halt the spread of the virus.

Some countries continue to keep their borders shut to Brits.

Many are concerned over the contagious nature of the Delta variant which makes up the majority of cases in the UK.

Many countries currently ban Brits from entering (unless they’re citizens or have an essential reason for visiting).

According to Kayak, most people from the UK won’t be able to travel to 95 countries.

More than 126 countries have allowed Britons to enter with restrictions, such as being fully vaccinated or need to quarantine upon arrival.

The following 20 spots are among the 95 countries Brits won’t be able to jet off to:

  • The US
  • Canada
  • Denmark

  • Austria
  • China
  • India
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Japan
  • Indonesia
  • Sweden

  • Belgium
  • The Netherlands
  • Hungary
  • Slovakia
  • Norway
  • Czech Republic
  • Bulgaria
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand

For the full lists of where we can and cannot go, head HERE.

Before you rush to book your holiday to any country on the UK’s green or amber lists, it’s essential to also check the restrictions around travel imposed by the country you intend to visit.

For example, although Columbia has opened its borders to Brits it remains on the UK’s red list so you should not travel there.
Likewise, Bulgaria is on the UK’s green list but they have placed the UK on their red list, so they will not allow Brits to enter their borders at the moment.

Source: Read Full Article