Which countries are banned from entering the UK? Priti Patel update

Priti Patel: UK co-operation has been ‘strong’ on travel

Priti Patel will provide an update today on which countries will be banned from entering the UK. The Government is currently firming up border measures as it struggles to contain rising national Covid cases. Part of this will see tighter restrictions for those allowed to arrive in the UK on top of a more comprehensive ban list.

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

Which countries are banned from entering the UK?

The Prime Minister has allegedly refused calls from Home Secretary Priti Patel to close British borders.

He announced the introduction of new “red-list” countries which will face barring from UK entry.

Addressing MPs today, Mr Johnson said: “I want to make clear that under the stay home regulations, it is illegal to leave home to travel abroad for leisure purposes.

“We will enforce this at ports and airports by asking people why they are leaving and instructing them to return home if they do not have a valid reason to travel.”

He added: “We have also banned all travel from 22 countries where there is a risk of known variants, including South Africa, Portugal, and South American nations.

Source: Read Full Article