Red list countries: Full list of BANNED destinations after traffic light update

Boris Johnson 'won't hesitate' in adding countries to red list

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Two new countries have been added to the UK Government’s red list for travel. This means there are now 62 where travel is banned as of Monday, August 30 at 4am.

Last night, Balkan nation Montenegro became the first in Europe to be added to the red list.

Thailand was also added to the red list.

According to the Department of Transport, the change was made to reflect “the increased case rates in these countries and higher risk that travel from these countries poses to UK public health”.

It added: “The high rates combined with lower levels of published genomic surveillance in Thailand and Montenegro than other countries mean that an outbreak of a new variant or existing variants of concern (VOC) or variants under investigation (VUI) cannot be easily identified before it is imported and seeded across the UK.”

Which countries are currently on the red list?

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini

British Airways’ September Sale is back – bag a bargain [DEAL]
Portugal’s new rules that Britons must follow on holiday [TRAVEL ADVICE]
Travel list changes branded ‘a joke’ as hotspots kept off green list [COMMENT]

  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique

  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Réunion
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

What are the rules for red list countries?

Entry rules vary depending on each specific nation on the red list as determined by each country’s individual government.

However, the UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) is advising against all “non-essential” travel to red list countries.

What’s more, the only UK and Irish citizens and legal residents are permitted to enter the UK from red list destinations.

They must also spend 10 days (11 nights) in a Government-mandated quarantine hotel.

This self-isolation period is at the expense of the traveller, costing £2,285 for the entire stay.

The additional rate for an extra adult or child over 11 is £1,430.

The additional rate for a child aged between five and 11 is £325.

This cost includes food, transport, security, testing and essential wraparound services, such as medical care and welfare checks.

Source: Read Full Article